Let’s Try Something New…

Hello Blogging World!

Welcome to my very first blog post, I hope you are as excited [read: terrified] as I am! Where should I begin? My name is Laura and I am currently located in Houston, TX. (Official Mascot: Beyonce) I am an Office Coordinator/Kid Wrangler at a small private high school, and I really am enjoying every second of it. GO WILDCATS!

I am a self-proclaimed Nomad-At-Heart. Given the choice between a swanky downtown apartment with all the latest and greatest gadgets and living out of a suitcase, I’d gladly choose the latter. Carrying only what you absolutely need is a very liberating experience. Although, let me be the first to say that I am still learning how to do this. Packing exactly what I don’t need is my specialty.

Having grown up with a parent that worked for an airline, I was very fortunate to be able to travel pretty easily. We always flew standby, which was frustrating to me as a kid; On good days we had tickets waiting for us when we got to the gate, on bad days we were forced to sleep in the terminal to catch the first flight out in the morning. (Cue tantrums in the middle of the terminal. God bless my parents.) As an adult, I now realize that this was the biggest life lesson I have learned to date: flexibility. I mean I just don’t think you know the true meaning of the word until you’ve cut a vacation short, slept on a bench outside of the airport for the night, or had family breakfast, lunch and dinner at an impossibly small cafe table all to try and catch a flight home. It’s something I wouldn’t trade for the world.

Travel is worth any cost

I believe in self-love and self-expression. Over the last year or so I’ve been on a mission to love myself more, and the deeper I dive into this mission the more I’ve noticed one thing: Our society sucks. When it comes to our body perception the US media has some pretty screwed up and impossible standards. I know that I’m not stating anything new or profound here, but I’ve officially had enough. If I want a cheeseburger with extra fries for lunch, I’m going to have a damn cheeseburger and extra fries for lunch. I’m done with trying to measure up to the media’s impossible standards. I am believer that positivity breeds positivity. It’s a cliche for a reason people. I am working to be more positive in my everyday life and in return I’ve already seen positivity returned to me. I am always striving to strengthen myself mentally, physically and spiritually. I fight to always be true to myself and to never compromise. I hope that in some way, shape or form this blog encourages others to do the same.

Grow

One thought on “Let’s Try Something New…

  1. Flexibility is one of the most important things to learn. In fact, I’m having to relearn much of it after becoming sedentary, in more ways than one! Love the first post, looking forward to reading more.

    Cheers!

    -V

    Like

Leave a Reply

