My least favorite “F” word..

“So what are you planning on doing in the future?”

“What career path are you working towards?”

“So, what do you want to do with your life?”

 

Questions that cause every twenty-something fresh out of college to roll their eyes and shake their head; or, if you’re anything like me, chew your lip and immediately start feeling anxious.

 

When I sit down and really think about what I want to be when I grow up, I find that I can’t really give a concrete answer. I know plenty of people that have a five year plan written out and are taking daily steps to reach their goals, to them I say “Congratulations!!” I graduated high school and did what I was “supposed” to do and went to a four-year university and graduated with a B.S. in Hotel and Restaurant Management. Do I currently work in a hotel or restaurant? No. Do I plan on working in a hotel or restaurant in the future? No. Then Laura, why the heck did you study it?! Well, I thought that my love of travel would translate well into hospitality management. It didn’t. So Laura, what ARE your future plans? You know, I’m really not sure. What I am sure about is that my future will involve lots of traveling, learning, growing, helping and inspiring.

 

Traveling is the one thing I wish was an option to major in, I would have graduated summa cum laude. I would have been the shining star of the class, the teacher’s pet, and I would be 100% OK with that! Traveling forces us to open ourselves to new experiences and new people. It teaches so much and it’s something that I have become very passionate about. I have learned so much more by hitting the road and talking to people than I ever did from any textbook or lecture. Stepping out of your comfort zone inherently causes you to grow as a human being, and that is such a remarkable thing. My main goal for this blog is to share my travels with you, or those of you that care (here’s looking at you mom). And I just want a place to dump my thoughts and hopes of future travel. Maybe you’ll enjoy reading, maybe you won’t. Maybe you’ll find the inspiration you’ve been looking for to finally take that dream trip of yours, or perhaps you’ll just live vicariously through my posts. Whatever may float your boat, I invite you to read and enjoy and feel free to leave your feedback!

One thought on “My least favorite “F” word..

  1. I did the exact same thing! I majored in archaeology and I now use that degree as a dust catcher and a book end… I have never been absolutely sure about what I want to do as a “grown up job”, but until then I am happy to explore the world. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

