“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers”

Fall is finally upon us, and may have been for a few weeks for some of you. I love everything about fall, pumpkin spice lattes, leaf piles, cooler temperatures, fall fashion. I own ENTIRELY too many fall/winter clothes for living in Texas. I feel like this photo sums up our annual weather pretty accurately:

While I can't say that this is true for ALL of Texas, it is most definitely true for Houston!
While I can’t say that this is true for ALL of Texas, it is most definitely true for Houston!

I think Christmas 2013 was the first time in like 17 years that I remember not wearing shorts on Christmas. We had a freakishly cold, hard winter last year and it was amazing. I know those of you that live where it gets cold regularly are probably looking at me like I’m crazy. My avid interest in fall attire probably stems from the fact that I was born and raised in the wrong climate, you want what you can’t have right? My point being, I love fall and winter. I love wrapping myself in layer after layer and warming up with a warm beverage. We may only get about 3 weeks of it here before the hard freeze sets in, but I’ll take what I can get!

By the way, this is a response to this Daily Prompt

4 thoughts on ““I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers”

  1. Interesting that you feel that way being a real Texan… I am so glad that we still get those 4 seasons here were we live now in the South of Australia. It was something I was a bit worried about when moving from Switzerland. My favorite time of the year is fall and I would miss it so much if this season would be like all the others as well. No matter if hot or cold. Do you travel in fall to get the most out of it? To states which are famous for their colored leaves, Indian Summer? I would love to experience it one day. I wonder how much different it would be to a Swiss fall, as our leaves turn very colorful too. But it must be very special…

    Like

    • Australia and Switzerland sound beautiful, I am definitely trying to get there one day! I would love to travel during the fall but unfortunately I work for a school right now, so I’m stuck on a school year schedule. I have been to the northeast during the fall before and the leaves changing colors is something truly magical. You don’t get too much of that here in Texas!

      Like

  2. I’m from Athens, Greece,where although we don’t wear shorts in winter, still it’s mild enough. This year I’m spending fall and winter in Boston, MA, so yes for the first time in my leaf I’m prepared to see the leaves change color and snow, lots of snow!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

