Daily Prompt

Train stations, airport terminals, subway stops: soulless spaces full of distracted, stressed zombies, or magical sets for fleeting, interlocking human stories?

We’ve all been there. Stuck in the grasps of the talkative stranger while trying to go about your daily routine. Perhaps it’s you who is the talkative stranger? I think the answer to today’s Daily Prompt depends completely on your feelings towards the ramblings of an outsider at any particular moment. I am all for the friendly conversation with a stranger on the metro, in fact I depend on these conversations when I travel. What better way to discover the hidden gems of a city than asking a local? I also know that these talks are not always welcome, I am guilty of occasionally trying to avoid them at costs.

I’ve learned to practice the art of boundaries when it comes to anonymous chit chat. I can judge pretty quickly when I am trying to connect with someone who is choosing to be a zombie for the day. I embrace the unknown when someone decides to open up and indulge me when I’m looking to ramble. These public spaces can inhabit both distracted, stressed zombies and interlocking human stories.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

